Proposed Rejig of California Medical Marijuana Laws – What Does it Mean for the User?
California’s medical marijuana landscape may soon undergo a change if the proposed changes in medical marijuana laws are upheld. Here are ten things that you can expect as a user.
1. Dispensaries will remain open only between 6am and 9pm. That’s a big change from the all-night dispensaries that cater to customers now.
2. Buyers will be restricted to eight ounces of medical cannabis a day. There’s no clarity on what the eight ounces specifically covers, because if it’s a concentrate, then eight ounces are more than enough to see even the most dependent medical user through the day.
3. With a valid ID and a physician’s prescription, you will be able to purchase medical weed. That’s pretty much the case even now.
4. In California, dispensaries may allow buyers to smell the wares. Washington and Colorado do not allow this practice. The sample product cannot be sold, it must be destroyed.
5. The weed will only be available in child-resistant packages. You won’t be able to purchase it loose.
6. Don’t bother asking for a free sample. Because you won’t get it.
7. You can order a home delivery. The delivery person must be at least 21 years old, and an employee of the dispensary. The deliveries will happen between 6am and 9pm.
8. You will have to receive the delivery and sign the appropriate document. Medical marijuana cannot be handed to another person, family member, or friend.
9. The regulations will come at a cost, approximately an additional $500 per patient per year.
10. The additional money that you will pay will ensure that you get a quality product and that the contents are exactly as the label states.